Launch of the Biennale of Fine Contemporary Craft 2020

27/11/2019

Rendez-vous on November 26th 2020 in downtown Luxembourg for a new major event dedicated to Fine Crafts and exceptional savoir-faire, that will bring together more than sixty craftsmen working in Luxembourg and the Grande Region, in dialogue with a selection of European talents, designers, workshops and factories, specially invited on this occasion.

Thus, with this third edition, "De Mains De Maîtres" biennale aims to offer the widest representation of what constitutes the artistic trade today, a universe at the crossroads of art and craft, which draws its vitality and modernity from the transmission of artistic gesture and the perpetual search for innovation.

As a snapshot of of the creation and the craft production in Luxembourg and in Europe, let's bet that this new edition, extending further thant in 2018  in the museums, workshops and galleries of Luxembourg city, will constitute once again a real course of discovery and curiosity.

Jean-Marc Dimanche, curator of the exhibition, has chosen for this edition the theme "Living the Material" («Viv(r)e la Matière ») to celebrate the gesture and spirit, and to show to all audiences the rarest and most beautiful Fine Crafts.

The event will occupy, as in 2018, the exhibition galleries and the beautifuls salons of 19Liberté, on several floors, and will welcome this year some prestigious europeans schools commited to preserve the transmission of savoir-faire so that our great art of living is preserved.

Launch of the Biennale of Fine Contemporary Craft 2020

An active support to Fine Crafts

Following the unprecedented success of the major exhibition held at 19Liberté in December 2016, and with a view to perpetuate the commitment to artists and art creators, HRH Princess Stephanie of Luxembourg, the Luxembourgish Chamber of Trades, the Banque et Caisse d'Epargne de l’Etat Luxembourg (BCEE) and Mr. Roland Kuhn created in May 2017 the non-profit association De Mains De Maîtres Luxembourg.

Among the missions that the association has set itself, the first and foresmost is to perpetuate the exhibition "De Mains De Maîtres"  to become and unavoidable Biennale, whose reputation extends beyong borders and forges bridges between the main European actors involved in the field of art and craft.

Launch of the Biennale of Fine Contemporary Craft 2020

Prizes to reward talents

With each edition, two prizes reward the quality, work and savoir-faire among the Luxembourg Fine Crafstmen exhibiting at the Biennale. The first, the "RTL Prize" is awarded on the basis of public votes and the second, the " Leir Foundation Jury Prize" is selected by the members of the committee.

Trough the " Leir Foundation Jury Prize", the  New York Charitable Foundation is supporting De Mains De Maître Luxembourg which, by celebrating Luxembourg craftsmanship, embodies perfectly the spirit and savoir-faire that inspired the lives of Henry J. et Erna D. Leir.

Would you have any question ?

  • newsletter Subscribe to our Newsletter

Biennale «De Mains De Maîtres Luxembourg» - Lancement de la 3è édition - du 26 au 29 novembre 2020

27/11/2019

Rendez-vous le 26 novembre 2020 au cœur de Luxembourg pour une nouvelle grande manifestation dédiée aux métiers d’art et savoir-faire d’exception, qui réunira plus de soixante Artisans d’Art exerçant au Luxembourg et dans sa grande région, en dialogue avec une sélection de talents européens, créateurs, ateliers et manufactures, invités tout spécialement à cette occasion.

Ainsi, avec cette troisième édition, la Biennale « De Mains De Maîtres » se veut offrir la représentation la plus large de ce que constituent les Métiers d’Art aujourd’hui, un univers au carrefour de l’art et l’artisanat, qui puise sa vitalité et sa modernité à travers la transmission du geste et la perpétuelle recherche d’innovation. 

Tel un véritable instantané de la création et de la production artisanale au Luxembourg et en Europe, gageons que cette nouvelle édition qui s’étendra aussi et davantage qu’en 2020 dans les Musées, Ateliers et Galeries de la ville de Luxembourg, constituera une fois encore un véritable parcours de découvertes et de curiosités.

Jean-Marc Dimanche, commissaire de l’exposition a choisi pour l’édition 2020 le thème « Viv(r)e la Matière », afin de célébrer le geste et l’esprit, et donner à voir à tous les publics ce qui se fait de plus rare et de plus beau en terme d’artisanat d’art. 

L’événement occupera, comme en 2018, les galeries d’exposition et les prestigieux salons du 19Liberté, s’étalant sur plusieurs des étages du bâtiment, et accueillera  cette année quelques prestigieuses écoles européennes qui ont à cœur aujourd’hui encore de préserver la transmission des savoir-faire afin que perdure notre formidable art de vivre. 

Biennale «De Mains De Maîtres Luxembourg» - Lancement de la 3è édition - du 26 au 29 novembre 2020

Un soutien actif aux métiers d'art

Suite au succès de la première grande exposition consacrée aux Métiers d’Art qui s’est tenue au 19 Liberté en décembre 2016, et dans l’optique de pérenniser l’engagement en faveur des créateurs et artisans d’art, Leurs Altesses Royales le Prince Guillaume et la Princesse Stéphanie de Luxembourg, la Chambre des Métiers du Luxembourg, la Spuerkeess et M. Roland Kuhn ont créé en mai 2017 l’association De Mains De Maîtres Luxembourg.

Parmi les missions que s’est donnée l’association, la première est de pérenniser l’exposition « De Mains de Maîtres » pour qu’elle devienne une Biennale incontournable, dont la notoriété s’étende au-delà des frontières et permette de construire de véritables passerelles entre les principaux acteurs européens intervenant dans le domaine de l’Artisanat d’Art. 

Biennale «De Mains De Maîtres Luxembourg» - Lancement de la 3è édition - du 26 au 29 novembre 2020

Des prix pour récompenser les talents

A l’issue de la manifestation, deux prix récompensent la qualité, le travail et le savoir-faire parmi les artisans d’art luxembourgeois exposant à la Biennale. Le premier, le « Prix RTL » est décerné d’après les votes du public, et le second, le « Prix du Jury Fondation Leir », est sélectionné par les membres du Comité.

À travers le « Prix du Jury Fondation Leir », la fondation caritative marque son soutien à De Mains De Maître Luxembourg, qui, en célébrant l’artisanat luxembourgeois, incarne parfaitement l’esprit et le savoir-faire qui ont inspiré Henry J. et Erna D. Leir de leurs vivants.

Hutt Dir eng Fro iwwer d'Associatioun "De Mains De Maîtres Luxembourg"?

  • newsletter Abonnéiert eis Newsletter